RSS Feed

Of decoration woes and big band sounds

Last week I was all a bit AARRGGHH.  In my usual slightly foolish style I had bitten off more than I could chew and was feeling the strain.  As always I felt a bit ridiculous after the event for getting so stressy but I never learn!

Anyway the cause of the concern was decorations for the Village Hall Big Band night with Salisbury Big Band which on top of all of the kids Christmas activities and my list of projects to finish was just a bit much.  I had to make table decs and a garland for the stage.  To cut a long story short the table decs were a bit of a let down being neither big nor impactful enough especially once the lights were down, the garland with the help of brilliant multitalented knit and natter guru Daisy was the subject of a lot of positive comment!  For my first attempt I was really happy with it too.

Stage and Holly Garland

On top of that I can use it tomorrow night when I have to decorate the house for the Wander of Wonder – an advent event for local children that I’m helping out with…

Exciting things for me about Saturday night (apart from the really fantastic band) was a new dress courtesy of Ebay and a new necklace – a pressie from Mr M and one I’ve been wanting for ages made by my lovely friend Miss Mary Elliott.  Check us in this photo taken by Greg Patterson Photography at the band night.

Scrubbed up and with a fab new necklace!

I suffered on Sunday and due to teenagers love life we had to be in Bournemouth on Christmas parade day.  Photos in this case speak louder than words….

Hangover busting fry up

My boys and a dog

Keep the vintage love xx

2 responses »

  1. Looks wonderful! Sorry we missed it. Maybe next time you & Daisy could knit a garland?… Then you could just pull it out each year & no prickly fingers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

