RSS Feed

Reflection

It’s that time of year when everyone starts to look back over the previous year.  The retrospectives and reviews are all over the TV although Sports Personality of the year is on a Thursday this year which is just all wrong and probably the reason why I’m not feeling particularly Christmassy this year….

At the end of November the lovely Katherine from Home Grown Originals who were at our fair in September was kind and generous enough to pass on a blogger award to me.  I have a duty to do the same and pass it on to 7 other bloggers and also to tell 7 things about myself.   It sort of feels like my own mini review of the year. Here goes, some blogs and bloggers I love.  Please forgive me if there are any here that you have seen elsewhere!

1.  http://keepapi.blogspot.com/  Keepapi Creative – My dear friend Jaci, who I’m amazed to remember I have only known for a year!  Wonderful x

2. http://sunhatswellieboots.blogspot.com  Sun Hats and Wellie Boots. I love this blog and have made many of the projects with my little boy Tommy.  Catherine writes about the creativity of her little girl – inspirational.

3. http://patientgardener.wordpress.com  The Patient Gardner – I love to garden and to see things grow – this blogger is a kindred spirit.

4. http://fading-grace.blogspot.com/  I know that Sophie has been mentioned before but I love love love her blog.  I turn to it when I need to cosy up with a mug of chai.

5. http://www.appetiteforcake.co.uk/  Recipes and real life.  Brill.

6. http://nuzzle.wordpress.com  The eagle eyed among you may notice that this blog is written by the same lovely lady as the last one.  A fellow knitting fanatic and I love the tag line ‘accepting my failings’.

7. http://johnnyneptune.wordpress.com/ This blog belongs to my darling husband.  He started it when he was at home with Tommy when I first went back to work.  He doesn’t update it very often he says but in any case…

 

7 things about me.

  Happy in Spain with Tommy.

1. I used to be an accountant.  I hated it.

2. I’m the only pinko lefty in my family, I read the Guardian, I don’t vote Tory, I worked in public services to give something back.  Hugely naive of course.

3. My life has changed completely in the last year.  I have met some wonderful people, put my head above the parapet and am doing my best to volunteer and immerse myself in village life.  I wish I’d done it years ago.

4. I’m prone to depression.

5. I love to travel, at least I love to be in other places.  I hate the travelling bit!

6. I always try something ‘local’ from the menu.  Usually I don’t have the first idea what I’m ordering – sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t.  Tripe sausage in France = bad.  Chicken soup Waterzooi in Ghent = good – just don’t order rice with it!

7. My children drive me round the bend but are also my pride and joy and centre of my world.

 

4 responses »

  1. Dear Karen, just wanted to say a big thank you! I love to read your blog too, and am so glad that we met and became friend alll be it mostly virtual ones!!
    Have a happy, happy Christmas.
    Love Sophie x

    Reply
  2. Ahh, thank you Sophie. I hope you and yours have a lovely and peaceful Christmas too 🙂
    xx

    Reply
  3. I love you ! I’ve never been involved in a blog award, let alone twice in one go…thank you for lovely thing said about the blogs…I may reactivate “cake”…

    Thank you also for sharing your 7 things. I knew I liked your blog and your tweets anyway, but I find your 7 things interesting too (fellow guardian reader… etc..).and I don’t think you were naive about the public service/giving something back, I think it depends which bit you are in…although at the moment admittedly it is hard to believe what you do “makes a difference”

    I am in awe incidently that you got a vintage/craft fair off the ground…amazing…hoping I manage to get to the next one

    Reply
  4. Bless you! Do revive the cake one – it’s ace!

    Be brill to see you at the next fair – I’ll be inundating you with invitations now…

    have a lovely Christmas x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

